The International Society of Biomechanics (ISB) Technical Group on the 3-D Analysis of Human Movement provides a forum for the discussion of all issues relating to the measurement of human movement in three dimensions. This is achieved primarily through the organization of international symposia, typically every second year.

History of the Symposium:

The Group primarily owes its existence to the efforts of Paul Allard and Jean-Pierre Blanchi, who organized the first symposium in Montreal in 1991, and helped with the organization of the symposia in Poitiers, Stockholm, and Grenoble. The formation of the group was also strongly supported by the late Herman Woltring. The International Society of Biomechanics recognized the organization as a Technical Group in 1995. The first organizational meeting was held in Grenoble on July 1, 1996.

2024 Symposium:

3DAHM2024 Symposium will take place in the cosy, clean, full of trees Montevideo, capital of Uruguay,. Do not miss the rambla, a seaside twenty Km promenade, to enjoy the wind and sea, and remember it is not salt water. The mythic Estadio Centenario, where the first Football World Cup was played in 1930, will guide you towards the Hospital de Clínicas (University Hospital) rich in medical research such as biomechanics and 3D Analysis of Human Movement. A city which offers large public gardens (Botanical Garden, the Rosedal, Japanese Garden) and museums (Blanes, Arqueológico, Rivera, etc.) and bare in mind that museum entry in Uruguay is usually free.

Topics of Interest:

  • To facilitate cross-domain interaction, we wish to invite work across the fields (sports, clinical, entertainment, etc.) covering the following techniques & principles:
  • State-of-the-art/advanced video-based motion capture with markers
  • State-of-the-art/advanced video-based motion capture without markers
  • State-of-the-art/advanced inertial and other wearable systems
  • Medical imaging and other motion capture
  • Fusion of motion capture methods
  • Signal Processing
  • Motion artefact avoidance and elimination
  • Movement variability and complexity
  • Movement classification
  • Effects of environment on motion analysis methods
  • Computational modelling
  • Robotics and bio-inspired models
  • Novel applications of 3D Human Movement Analysis
  • Real-time movement applications
  • Other topics describing progress in 3D analysis of human movement
  • Data mining and movement classification
  • Open access data – challenges and opportunities
  • Impact of state-of-the-art 3DHMA on standard practice
  • Working across borders – challenges and opportunities

Officers and Committees

3D-AHM Officers:

  • President (2022-24): Franco Simini
  • Past president/chair (2020-22): Yoshiyuki Kobayashi
  • Future president (2024-26): to be announced
  • Treasurer/Webmaster: Georgios Stylianides
  • Member at large: Chris Bate
  • Member at large: Raphaël Dumas
  • Representative from industry: Emily Schaefer
  • Representative from industry: Kim Duffy

Latin American Local Organizing Committee:

  • Citlali Trujillo, Medical Engineering Research, México 3DAHM 2024
  • Ana Cecilia Villa Parra, U. Politécnica Salesiana, Cuenca, Ecuador 3DAHM 2024
  • Carlo Biancardi, Universidad de la República, Paysandú, Uruguay 3DAHM 2024
  • Ariel Braidot, U. Nacional de Entre Ríos, Argentina 3DAHM 2024
  • Felipe Carpes, Neuromecánica, UNIPAMPA, Uruguayana, Brasil 3DAHM 2024
  • Leonardo Tartaruga, Mechanics & Energetics of Locomotion, UFRGS Brasil 3DAH
  • Darío Santos
  • Franco Simini

International Scientific Committee:

  • Jim Becker (USA)
  • Rezaul Begg (AUSTRALIA)
  • Claudio Belvedere (ITALY)
  • Andrea Cereatti (ITALY)
  • Teresa Chen (USA)
  • Tzurei Chen (USA)
  • Roy T.H. Cheng (HONG KONG)
  • Li-Shan Chou (USA)
  • Raphael Dumas (FRANCE)
  • Weijie Fu (CHINA)
  • Masahiro Fujimoto (JAPAN)
  • Dongyun Gu (CHINA)
  • Michael Hahn (USA)
  • Takuya Hashimoto (JAPAN)
  • Satoru Hashizume (JAPAN)
  • Hiroaki Hobara (JAPAN)
  • Toyoyuki Honjo (JAPAN)
  • Wei-li Hsu (TAIWAN)
  • Takuma Inai (JAPAN)
  • Arminian Kamiar (SWITZERLAND)
  • Yoshiyuki Kobayashi (JAPAN)
  • Pui Wah (Veni) Kong (SINGAPORE)
  • Shoma Kudo (JAPAN)
  • Tung-Wu Lu (TAIWAN)
  • Vipul Lugade (USA)
  • Akihiko Murai (JAPAN)
  • Kanako Nakajima (JAPAN)
  • Emi Nakamura (JAPAN)
  • Kunihiro Ogata (JAPAN)
  • Stephen Piazza (USA)
  • Natsuki Sado (JAPAN)
  • Franco Simini (URUGUAY)
  • Rita Stagni (ITALY)
  • Georgios Stylianides (UAE)
  • Hiroshi Takemura (JAPAN)
  • Sibylle Thies (UK)
  • Haruki Toda (JAPAN)
  • Tsung-Yuan Tsai (CHINA)
  • Camomilla Valentina (ITALY)
  • Tishya Wren (USA)
  • Bing-Shiang Yang (TAIWAN)

This website is under maintenance. It will be updated soon.